New Laws in Effect in Louisiana
The Louisiana State Legislature has been busy churning out new laws and many of those laws went into effect over the weekend. Obviously, some of the laws will not be all that popular and we don't have room for all the new laws in this space, but we'll give you a few of the high points on the new laws.
Let's start with one that could really get you into a lot of trouble and that is the law regarding the use of cell phones in school zones. the bottom line is; don't. Using a hand-held cell phone in a school zone is against the law if the school district has a sign posted stating that such use is prohibited. There's a pretty steep fine that goes along with this law, so resist the urge to make that earth shatteringly important call while you're in a school zone.
Some good laws came out of the legislative session and one of those is that domestic abuse is now grounds for an immediate divorce. The law doesn't stop there either. Abusers under a protective order are banned from possessing a firearm. In fact, if you are convicted of a domestic battery case, you can't legally own a firearm for 10 years.
Some of the other laws that went into effect over the weekend are:
- Throw a cigarette butt out of your car and face a $300 fine and 8 hours of community service.
- It's forbidden to fly a drone over any of the local plants and refineries.
- If you're under 18, you can no longer use a tanning bed in the state. You'll have to get skin cancer the old fashioned way.
- And finally, at long last, you can get your car inspected even if it's raining.
For more laws now in effect, please visit the Louisiana Legislature website here.