Louisiana Laws That Went Into Effect August 1st That You Need to Know
In January we saw a string of new Louisiana laws go into effect, from medical marijuana making headlines to 5-year-olds in Louisiana being required to go to kindergarten, we had a few laws to cover.
January Isn't The Only Time We See New Laws Go Into Effect in Louisiana.
Monday, August 1st was a big day for new laws. Let's cover the big four that have Louisiana residents talking.
Marijuana Is a Hot Topic, Police Can't Use the Smell of Marijuana Against You.
In short, Police in Louisiana can't use the smell of marijuana to justify a warrantless search of your home. The other law concerning marijuana is that you can't use marijuana while driving even if you have a medical card. No vaping, no smoking, you'll get a ticket. You can read about all the marijuana laws by clicking here.
Veterans in Louisiana Can Carry Without a Permit.
Military veterans and active-duty troops in Louisiana can now carry concealed handguns without permits. The military veterans must be at least 21 years of age, and have no criminal felony record.
Don't Speed On the Atchafalaya Basin Bridge You'll Get a Ticket.
If you speed on the Atchafalaya Basin Bridge you'll get hit with a big fat ticket, the ticket will be double what it used to be. Plus, there are two cameras on each side of the bridge, so if you get from one side of the bridge to the other side in less than 18 minutes, the cameras will catch you. Slow down. Read more on this new law by clicking here.
Transgender Women Can't Compete in Women's and Girls' Teams.
The legislation prohibits transgender women and girls in Louisiana from competing on college and K-12 women’s and girls’ athletic teams. If you remember Governor John Bel Edwards had vetoed this back in 2021, however, the measure was passed by veto-proof majorities this year. It became law without Governor Edwards' signature. You can read more on this law by clicking here.