McNeese finished up the 2016 on a winning note with a 41-10 win over the Lamar Cardinals in Cowboy stadium Saturday evening. The victory gave the Cowboys their 12th consecutive winning season, 4th best in the FCS. The Pokes finished with a 6-5 overall record and 5-4 in the Southland Conference.

The Cowboys jumped out to a 7-0 lead on their first possession and the game was never really close as the Cardinals struggled on offense all night. The Cowboys led 28-3 at the half and 35-3 after 3 quarters. Injuries were a major problem for Lamar all season and they were starting their 4th string quarterback. 3 players took snaps at quarterback for LU during the game. The Cowboys gained 452 total yards to Lamar's 229.

6 different Cowboys reached the end zone including Jermaine Antoine who returned an interception 65 yards to make it 35-3 late in the 3rd. QB James Tabary threw a touchdown pass to Darious Crawley for 19 yards. Dylan Long ran one in from 3 yards out, Ryan Ross from the 6, Justin Pratt from the 3, and Tabary scored from 26 yards away. The only disappointment was that Tabary finished 33 yards short of the all time single season passing yardage record. The lone Lamar touchdown was scored by former Lagrange high school receiver Martell Hawthorne.

Kendal Franklin led the defense with 8 tackles including 2 of the 3 Cowboy sacks. The defense came up with 2 interceptions and a fumble recovery.