Governor John Bel Edwards has announced that Calcasieu, Allen and Ascension parishes have been added to the federal disaster declaration for the State of Louisiana. While not the hardest hit areas following this weeks flooding, there are more than plenty of people in those three parishes that have pretty much lost everything they have to the recent flooding.

Earlier in the week, Gov. Edwards reached out to President Obama for the addition of those three parishes in order to help more victims of the flood. Basically this allows home owners in the area who have had flood damage to file for federal assistance.

If your home or property has been damaged by foold water, you care being encouraged to get that federal assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362. You can also get assistance by going to Disasterassistance .gov

Previously approved parishes: Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Claiborne, DeSoto, Grant, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Richland, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.